Friday Dinner @ Ruby Watch Co

My second time at Ruby WatchCo. See my previous review at http://weatethat.wordpress.com/2012/11/22/american-thanksgiving-dinner-ruby-watch-co-in-toronto/. This time I got to meet Chef Lynn Crawford! I just adore her on her show Pitchin In. She was kind enough to take pictures with us.

We went on a Friday, which always features some type of fish.

The prix fixe menu:

image

Amuse bouche – cheddar chive biscuits, and they were kind enough to give us seconds.

image

1st course:  Ruby’s Pink Shrimp and Avocado Salad. It was verrrrry salty!  Then we realized the menu had lime chili salt listed as one of the ingredients. I could only find one piece of avocado, I think they forgot the avocado, and I sure would have liked to have more of it. Aside from the oversaltedness, I enjoyed the shrimp and the onion tempura.

image

2nd course: Salmon w/ Cherry Tomato BBQ Sauce. They were nice enough to accommodate my request for cooking the salmon through. I liked it although the sauce did not taste like a BBQ sauce to me, and it was an unusual combination with salmon, to me. It was just OK. I would rather have a maple/mustard/sesame/soy glaze or marinade.

image

Fingerling potatoes

image

Bok choy. Nobody likes bok choy, I wish we had something else.

image

My friends ordered the pork belly supplement, which I did not try.

3rd course – Canadian Artisanal Cheese w/ Carrots, Raisins, and Candied Almonds. They were kind enough to substitute a Niagara Gold cheese since I could not have any soft cheeses. Wow this cheese paired w/ the carrots, raisins, candied almonds and sweet pea greens was delicious!

image

4th course – Chocolate & Peanut Butter - milk chocolate caramel, dark chocolate, peanut butter mousse, spicy peanuts. A really sweet dessert; you really can’t go wrong with the combination of chocolate & peanut butter.

image

Although there were some things I didn’t like, overall I am in love with the thought of Ruby WatchCo. I dream of eating at Ruby WatchCo every Friday night!

Web: http://rubywatchco.ca/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RubyWatchco & https://twitter.com/CHEF_LYNN

Instagram: http://instagram.com/chef_lynn

Ruby Watch Co on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

